Summer planning

This past week, I believe (think?) I’ve finished most of the gardening prep work for the year. One exception: I may buy a few more potted herbs for my herb garden. 

This past week we have also finished off much of the “wedding infusions” (we made about 20 1 liter batches of various infusions). As the stock gets low, we now have room for more fun–the plan is to recreate some old favorites while also experimenting with some new things. Growing now:

  • Thai basil
  • Lime basil
  • Basil basil
  • Spearmint
  • Mexican tarragon (has a minty-tarragony-anise sort of flavor, but mild)
  • Broccoli
  • Chives
  • Raspberries & blackberries
  • Thyme
  • Mint
  • Chocolate mint
  • A lighter green mint that I inherited and have kept going so far
  • Catnip
  • Lavendar
  • Lemon balm
  • Parsley
  • Cilantro/coriander
  • Spanish hot peppers
  • Lots of stuff probably not appropriate for infusing
  • Many herbs from last year that popped back up

A note on chives: I am hoping I didn’t miss my window, but the first chive (bush?) made these poofy purple flowers that had a wonderful chive flavor that has hints of sweetness to it. he flowers are still there, but I suspect nectar-drinking bugs/birds/bats have drained them a bit–they now just taste intensely chivelike and bitter. Probably good as a seasoning when making stock. If the smaller seedling I have planted flowers later, I plan on giving it a go.

I also have tons of strawberries, but you know what else I have? Squirrels. Fat, strawberry-stuffed, squirrels.

About Dazed & Infused

Failed science major turned to creative writing which led to a job as a bartender hack turned mixologist turned book editor turned writer who then went on to the world of International Corporate Communications. This is a bit getting back to his roots--that would be booze & science & rambling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer planning

  1. Looks like you’ve got quite a garden growing! I love your blog, what spirits do you use for infusions? Have you ever tried Bully Boy from Boston? They have some great recipes http://bullyboydistillers.com/bully-boy-recipes.html but their stuff ain’t cheap.

    PS Have you ever tried an infusion with Kaffir Lime Leaf??

    • Yes to Bully Boy! I would never dream of altering their finely crafted spirits though. I live near Gordon’s Liquors, which is one of my favorite liquor stores in the world, and they brought the fine folks (kids, practically) from Bully Boy in for a tasting one evening. I got there during a quiet time so had a great opportunity to chat with one of the owners/founders for quite a while. I bought a bottle of the White Whiskey and a Bottle of White Rum. You’re right they aren’t cheap, but fortunately a 10% tasting discount and being flush with a XMas bonus at the time made it more palatable.

      [Kaffir]: As a matter of fact, I plan on ordering a Kaffir Lime tree some time in the near future. I already have a potted lemon tree that requires attention all winter so it seems a good choice. Lime basil actually tastes a lot like kaffir!

  2. Kristen Samstag says:

    I am making some ambitious infused vodkas and tequilas as Christmas gifts this year. During my vast internet search for tips and how-tos, I happened upon your blog. I love, love, love it! I love your recipes, your vocabulary, your humor and most of all, your passion for fresh sour mix. Can’t wait to see what else you will come up with. Keep up the good work!

    To address your strawberry conundrum: Get some small stones and paint them to look like strawberries. Place them around your plants in spring and by the time you have real berries, birds and squirrels will think they are rocks.

    • Such a great idea! I will try it!!

      I’m considering building a small patio off our attic to just grow strawberries. Not sure if spending $2k for a small strawberry patch is logical though 😉

Leave a Reply

